Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Why Did You Choose The Sleeve Over The Band?

Hi y'all,

I'm a newbie from Australia and am in the process of deciding between a band and the sleeve.

My surgeon would prefer for me to have the sleeve, but I'm not sure I want to have this procedure, as the permanency freaks me out (once they cut the stomach away, that's it).

What made you decide to choose the sleeve over the band.

I know it's my choice in the end, but I just wanted to know what you went through to decide on the sleeve.

I see the surgeon again on 25 February (I saw him yesterday), so I have more time to think things over.

Of course my parents and sister are against the procedure, but in the end, it's my decision, right?

Look foward to hearing your replies.

Regards, Vanessa

-40% of all banded people cheat and move over to the sleeve.

- My brother had the band and cheated on it

- I didn't want to have a piece of plastic in me forever

- You have to keep going for adjustments

- and as a self pay person the sleeve cost me the same as a band but has 20% more weight loss in a year than a band..

The main reason I did not go with the lap band was a needle having to be inserted into the abdomen with each adjustment. I also did not like the need for more follow-up visits.

There were lots of reasons for me, but before I list them I would highly suggest looking at the section titled "complications" on BOTH this site and the sister site "lapbandtalk.com". It gave me a VERY realistic view of what I could be up against. I will say, since I have the sleeve, that I felt that the band had a lot more hidden complications then the sleeve. Most surgeons are very upfront about the risks, which were mainly leaks or strictures. The band being a manufactured object could malfunction. It can cause strictures and can erode into the stomach.