Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Biggest loser...

I've been watching the Biggest Loser, both the American one and the Australian one and I have noticed how 'tight' the contestants' skin looks... especially their upper arms. O know they work like hell in the gym and that they spend most of the day working out and getting physio etc... but why don't they have sagging bat wings like me?

I'm thinking the belly area is tight due to good underwear but the arms...?

Any ideas?

I wondered that, too! I think their weight loss is actually quite a bit slower than a surgery patient, and that may account for some of it--slower weight loss can mean less loose skin. But yeah, I'm interested to see what others say. I just started noticing nasty flab on my arms, which shocked me, since I never thought my arms were particularly "fat" before, and I use my arms all day at work (I'm a music teacher and I conduct!). Now I'm kinda grossed out by it and am reevaluating wardrobe choices!!

So what is their secret???

I haven't been able to start at the gym yet (hopefully at the end of the month my surgeon will clear me for it). However, there is a personal trainer there who had the gastric bypass surgery approximately 6 years ago and has lost about 400 pounds. He has not had any plastic surgery and has no sagging skin. He told us in a couple of our support group meetings that if you do the "right" exercising, then it will really minimize the sagging skin. One of the ladies there had VSG surgery a year ago and has the bat wings - he started working with her and when I saw her last, even though her arms were covered, I could tell there was a definite reduction in the bat wings.

His name is Anthony and works at Mercy Healthplex in Fairfield Ohio. I know he has a personal website as well - but I can't remember it off the top of my head. I'll see if I can find it and post it though. He seems very willing to talk to anyone about his experience.