Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Getting Fills And Going To School

Hi! So I'm getting my surgery done in NJ but I will be going back to school in VA about 10 days after I get banded. Do you think it'd be a good idea to try and find somewhere closer to my school to do my fills or should I just deal with the distance and make the trips back and forth to NJ to get my adjustments? I think it'd be a lot easier if I found someone closer but I really like my doctor and nurse that are here in NJ. Has anybody else had experience with this? And if anyone knows of a good doctor in the Richmond, VA area that would be willing to do the adjustments despite the fact I did not get surgery there then please let me know!! Thanks!!

-Erin

How far of a drive is it? My doc is about an hour and a half away, and I wouldn't trade him for someone closer. He and his office staff really put me at ease.

That being said I am a student also and it would be easier to have a doc closer to my school. Right now when I need a fill or checkup I will pretty much have to miss a whole day of school, that's no good! But I'm not changing.

After care is the key to success with the band! I would stick to the surgeon and staff you like and respect. They have more invested in you than some random doctor close by. Good luck!

How far of a drive is it? My doc is about an hour and a half away' date=' and I wouldn't trade him for someone closer. He and his office staff really put me at ease.

That being said I am a student also and it would be easier to have a doc closer to my school. Right now when I need a fill or checkup I will pretty much have to miss a whole day of school, that's no good! But I'm not changing.[/quote']

The drive for me would be 6-7 hours :/ and yeah like you, I'd have to miss a whole day of school but it might be worth it especially since I like my doctor. Hm...