Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Did You Keep Your Surgery A Secret?

I was just wondering if you told your family/friends about the surgery or kept it a secret? I've been struggling with this decision. So far I've told my immediate family, boyfriend and best friend, and they were all very supporitve as I had anticipated. But I'm not sure if I should tell my other good friends or family.

Thoughts? Advive? All is appreciated!

Don't have a surgery date yet but I plan on going public via Facebook as soon as I get the date. I'm not good at keeping secrets from my friends plus I want to tell the world about this experience (good or bad).

I told anyone who asked. They will ask when the weight starts coming off. Plus they don't think I rude when I dont eat their homemade breads or it odd that I don't drink anything when we go out to eat. A few people expressed surprise and concern before. Once my family knew fact they were all good. I had one close friend who kept trying to talk me out of it. Then finally she said" what about me? I don't qualify - I'll still be fat". She was worried about me being smaller then her. She had always been smaller than me. When I told my sister - she laughed and told me she was meeting with WLS that week. She allready had her surgery scheduled. So we supported each other.

I told all my friends and co workers. I felt like it would make me accountable because everyone will be watching.

I told a few at first. I too felt it would help make me accountable. Now that my body is getting smaller, I tell anyone who asks.

I thought it would be fun to keep it a secret, but I can't keep my mouth shut. Good thing I'm not a criminal mastermind... Although I normally kept my past diets a secret so I could avoid all accountability, and so I could fail in secret too. This deal is different and I know I will need the support of all my friends family and co-workers.