Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Which comes first? Cardio or Weights?

A question to the folks who workout on a regular basis.

In what order do you exercise? Cardio (run, bike, eliptical) Weight training. I like to get in some cardio on the days I weight train. Nothing like the run or bike I do on an off day. My trainer says I will have more energy to work with him if I don't hit the treadmill before seeing him. But I like that my body is warmed up to train so I do at least 30 mins at a good clip on the treadmill. Trainer says to hit the treadmill after him. But since we do a streatching thing when we are done I feel to relaxed to do the cardio.

Anyone have any thoughts?

I am so not the expert on this topic. But I do cardio at least 5X a week 60 minutes each time. I do cardio first. I don't know if it is the right thing to do. I am not a professional trainer. I just like the way it makes me feel, so I do that first.

I strecth afterwards and use my body weight as resistance.

I had an hour session with a trainer at the gym and was told that it is best to warm up for 10 minutes and than begin 30 minute cardio before weights. She said that you burn more fat since your body is still going after the cardio. She also said do not stretch before doing the weights.

Like TQUAD, I do cardio first. Cardio is my main focus right now. I find that if I do weights first, I don't have near as much energy to get through my cardio. I always stretch, then run, then stretch again, then do weight lifting. I dunno if I do the "right" way, but it works for me.

When I had a lot of weight to lose cardio was my main focus - it stripped the fat and did build moderate muscle for me. So I would have done that first -because my gut would tell me taht to get your heart rate up and your metabolism firing would mean your weights would ALSO be fat burning. But you read everywhere to do your strength training first so you can put more into it.