Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Update your Profile for better Results?

Okay, maybe the title of this topic sucks. I'm not very good at them. However, I think that it might be appropriate here. Let me start by saying that I am not trying to change the habits of others. Do what you want to do.....

I find that when users update their profiles regularly, it assists others with diagnosing problems...Especially when they ask for help from others. It also helps the user asking for guidance when they can see profile information of the poster offering advice.

For example, I have entered many forums where people are asking for help with stalls. Their profile still says 'Pre-Op', but they have had surgery a year ago. It is very hard to offer guidance. Sometimes, there is no weight info, but you will find out through back and forth discussion that they have lost 35 pounds already, but their weight has stalled at 40 days out. If there was a surgery date, and the weight was updated, it would help out others. I would definitely offer different advice if I knew their overall weight loss in those 40 days.

Does anyone else think that is important, or am I just overthinking things? I tend to do that a lot.

Most of the people that post now use the App and that information doesn't even show. They aren't updating it or using it, because they don't see it.

I didn't know that; I use my laptop and I agree with the OP, it is much more useful to see people's stats. But it's an individual choice--I just take post a lot more seriously if the person seems to be an active user of the site rather than posting a plea for advice as their first or second post with no info provided.

I use both laptop and phone, and its true that that stuff doesn't show up on the phone. I have to click on peeps' handles to get their info... and I do do that all tbe time to help give recommendations...