Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What do I do when I reach my goal?

Ok so aside from jumping up and down, what do I do when I reach my goal weight? My body isn't gong to know that is my goal and automatically stop losing weight. I am 22 pounds from goal (was sleeved aug. 25,2016) and the closer I've gotten to my goal, the more lax I have gotten on my very strict diet. Still no sugar at all and very few carbs but just let up a little. However, the weight loss hasn't slowed down. In fact, I usually have a 2 week stall each month but I haven't stalled this month or last. How will I keep myself from getting too thin? What are some changes you've made after reaching your goal weight?

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

So, shortly after reaching my goal weight I started training for a half marathon. It was initially pretty tricky figuring out how to get enough calories in to stop losing. I had to start tracking my food again as well as my exercise. I got a fitbit with a heart rate monitor in it so I could get a very accurate idea of how many calories I was burning each day. I started looking for calorie-dense foods and added them to my diet. Like cheese and nuts. I also added more Snacks into my schedule. NOT GRAZING. Actually scheduled snacks. I added a second afternoon snack and an after-diner snack. So I was eating seven times a day instead of five. That helped and I was able to get in enough calories to maintain my weight through all of my training.

I'd work with a nutritionist to adjust your diet. You need to increase your calories however our bodies are in starvation mode and I was told that for the first 2-3 years post loss our metabolism is still afraid of starvation so it's still slow. You need to increase your healthy calories. I think JamieLogical had great suggestions too. Once we reach goal that's when we have to be even more careful not to let ourselves backslide.