Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What's the Difference?

Hi all, this is my first post here. Been lurking for a while now.

I am seriously considering getting a sleeve. I am 38 years old, 6ft, 350lbs. I love working out, mostly CrossFit and powerlifting. I have just never been able to get my eating in check. I have an inguinal hernia and the doc I am using for that also specializes in WLS. I may have both procedures at the same time.

I have been overweight since I was 8 years old so I have 30 years of experience to tell me that I won't keep the weight off. I am however really good at losing weight. I've lost hundreds of pounds in my lifetime, LOL.

My question is what is the thing that makes the difference with the sleeve? Being that I have such a history of gaining, losing, gaining it all back plus some, then doing it all over again, how can I be sure that the sleeve will help me keep it off forever? I am sure what I am describing is the typical person here who was obese.

I just don't want to have the surgery, get skinny healthy for a few years, then put all of the weight back on.

For those of you a few years or more post surgery, did the surgery help you to overcome the addiction? Are you constantly battling an urge to eat junk? Are you always hungry? Do the struggles remain? - or - Did the surgery really allow you to make a life change that is sustainable and not a constant battle?

I am willing to put in the work, and I know the sleeve is just a tool. I just want to be sure it is a permanent solution.

Thanks in advance for the input.