Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hey All,

I am so flipping conflicted! I really want the VSG, but I am SOOOOOO concerned about the memory loss. Me, being at the height of my career; being sharp, witty, and fast-on-my-feet (theoretically talking) is KEY to career advancement. Can you guys/gals give me your personal stories and tell me what your long term experience of memory loss has been.

I'm ready to take my life tot he next level!!!

-Mike

Wait we are supposed to have memory loss???

I don't remember being told that!!

-Laura (I think)

While I appreciate your humor; I am looking for constructive feedback that will help me make a guided decision.

I haven't had an ounce of memory loss associated with my vsg - that was all from my children. Truly, though, I'm a nurse and am able to function competently and confidently. They certainly wouldn't let me do my job if I had memory loss.

I am an executive in a very Political and High Stress job.

NO memory loss at all... And I am in situations every day where I would know.

Research does show that Ghrelin plays a part in 'locking' memories, but the research is not clear and not conclusive. The research has been animal based and it appears that the Ghrelin-hippocampus-memory connection works on an empty stomach and (just sayin) that rules most of us out anyway.

So now leta all tell Laura she is witty and pretty and smart... and see if she remembers...

I have memory loss but that was because I was in a coma for 19 days....Due to complications with the surgery...I have not even heard of anyone else having this except for those who went through months and months of issues.....

It is good to ask any question on here.....

Hey All,