Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Returning to work?

Happy new year, everyone!

I am in the beginning stage of the whole process and am thinking about timing. I am a teacher and wondering if I should try to squeeze the surgery into spring break and take that time to recover or wait until summer when I will have more than enough time to recover. Currently we are doing distance learning which isn't physically demanding, however, if we are to return to the classroom, I am worried that from so few calories, I might feel weak or tired. I know how hard it is to restrict calories with a normal sized stomach that I can't imagine functioning normally at work on so few calories. I could be totally wrong though.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

I have a desk job in IT. I had surgery on a Thursday. Got out of the hospital on Saturday. Took the next week off and was back to work on Monday. I was very fatigued an pretty much went to bed about 8 pm for the first three weeks after surgery. I slowly started to build up more energy. It took a couple of months before I felt somewhat back to normal. I work 100% remote even prior to the whole "pandemic". If you know you will still be doing remote instruction, then you should be OK. If you are going to be back in the classroom, it will be difficult. If it were me, I would wait until summer. You can take theses months now to work on improving your diet and exercising to get in better shape for your surgery. If you do plan on doing it over spring break you might want take an extra week off.

Edited by Uomograsso