Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Will The Sleeve Help Us Keep It Off?

Do you really think the sleeve will help us keep it off? I mean, it's still such a relatively new procedure without much data to fall back on. I have read about people gaining the weight back but then I do understand that earlier procedures left the stomach much bigger and that could account for some people's regain. I KNOW that I can lose weight, I've done it enough times. I lost 126lb last year - but I never keep it off. Will the sleeve help us to do that? Lx

The sleeve helps us lose, but we have to be mindful of sliders and nutritionally void foods.

It is possible to gain back with any bariatric surgery. But just like losing takes work, so does gaining it back.

Complacency is not something that we can really afford.

I'm relatively new in the process, as I was sleeved on August 5th. I think this is the ultimate tool for weight loss, but I can't say that it is a "cure all." At the end of the day, successful weight loss and (more importantly) maintenance is all on the individual. As poster above me stated, you can lose all the weight, but if you get into bad habits (constant grazing; terrible food/drink decisions, etc.), you will gain it back.

The sleeve is an outstanding tool, but like any other tool, you have to use it correctly for it to work. You can have all the tools in the world, but those tools won't build a house by themselves. I guess what I'm trying to say is that ultimate success or failure does not lie w/ the sleeve, it lies with you.

It's very important to remember that the sleeve is only an aide to help us loose weight...we also need to retrain our minds of what to eat along with adopting a exercise routine to help us achieve our ultimate goal of being healthy.

If you continue your healthy living, you'll be able to keep off the weight.