Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How Long After Your First Visit Did You Get Your Surgery?

Hello everyone!!!

I am a newbie, I have been thinking of getting this surgery for about 7 months, been doing my research and going over my options and I have decided that the sleeve is for me:) I am so ready for this life changing journey! I was wondering, especially for any self-payers how long did it take for you to get a sugery date after your first inital visit? Or seminar if you attended one?

I was the fastest seminar to surgery patient my Dr. had ever had. I attended the July 30th saturday seminar, made my appt with the surgeon that Monday the 1st. Followed up with him that Friday the 5th, had surgery on Monday the 8th of August. So 9 days later, I was sleeved! I had been researching it and doing supervised dieting so I would be okayed by my insurance but they only covered the sleeve if your bmi was over 50 and mine was 40.2. I decided at the seminar to self pay and the earliest appt he had was Monday morning so I took it! It was very fast!

I attended my first seminar in the beginning of March and will be sleeved the end of June.

Mine was just under a month, but I'm self pay so I didn't have to wait for insurance authorization.

It took me 3 weeks from initial consult to OR table.

I was self-pay, so I could have gotten a date within the week, but wanted to give my work a heads up I would be out for a few unplanned days. Also- some of the pre-op tests took a few days to schedule and get results.... surprisingly the psych consult took the longest to schedule as many of the referred docs were too booked w/ regular patients to take a one-off.

congrats on taking control of your life and health!

I was self-pay. I had my initial visit with the surgeon in March and I will be sleeved on May 22nd.