Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello everyone, I am so glad that I found this site. I was banded 3/13/13 and so far I'm feeling awesome! I am so happy that a place like this exists and I hope to get to know all of you very well.

A little about me. I am 29 years old and I live in Texas. I currently work in childcare and I hold a degree in Sociology and am working on a Master's Degree in Social Work.

I have read many post here about complications post op, luckily I have been doing very well, so well in fact its almost like the band isn't there. The one thing that I am struggling with are the negative comments and horror stories that everyone insist on telling me about the band. I know several people who have had the band and have either had it removed or not been successful with their band. I was wondering, how do you all deal with people that insist on being negative about your choice to have the band and how do you keep the fears that you have in check when it comes to the subject of band rejection and slippage (which I know are not very common issues)?

Thanks!

Venita

Hello and welcome!

When I deal with people speaking ignorance, I try to enlighten them with facts. For instance, only 5% of Lap Band complications resulting in removal are by no fault of the patient. The rest are the patient failure, not the band failure, because the patient wasn't doing what they were supposed to do.

Unfortunately, the fact those that are howling loudest and most often are the ones that are having problems (usually self induced ones). What you don't see is all the happy, healthy people who've been successful with their band because they're too busy enjoying their lives to be bothered posting all over the internet.

Hang in there and don't let the poorly informed naysayers get you down :)