Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello,

My name is LaShonda and I am a 24 year old single mother who weighs 388 lbs. I have been researching the lap band for about 9 months now...and recently have gone through some steps in getting it over the last month. I started my journey with the idea that this might be an easy road for me, but I have come to realize that it is not. However I have prayed about it and have come to the conclusion that this is what I want to do. I started in at 403 lbs the heaviest I have ever been, since then I have tried numerous diet pills and diets. But with my High blood pressure there is not a lot of things I can take.

Good news is I have lost 15 lbs and plan to lose more, also I have attend a seminar and my psych evaluation is in July. After I see Dr. Williams I can then have my insurance approved and make a consult visit with Hurley bariatic clinic.

Seminar date: 6/9/2010

Psych visit: 7/14/2010

Start Weight:403 lbs

Goal weight: 185 lbs

current weight: 388 lbs

weight.png

Good Luck!

I also had about 200 pounds to lose, and had my surgery on March 5TH. I started at 350 and did not have a pre-op diet, so my surgery date was also my start weight. It has been 3 months and I am already down 49 pounds. It is deffinitly not easy, but very managable. I try not to look at the 200 number, instead I have broken it down into more reasonable numbers. My first goal was 50 pounds (2 more to get into the 200's), my second to get to the 100 pound mark and my temporary goal is to reach 200lbs. I hope to make it to around 160, but by setting smaller goals, it seems to be reachable.