Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hey I am new to this process and have my first class 1/27. Did the surgery not work for you ?

2 hours ago, sargechick said:

Hello all. I'm new to the group. I had my surgery 16 months ago. My surgeon is starting to push for me to start weight loss medication. My insurance will not cover any revision surgery. What arw your thoughts?

Sent from my SM-G991U using BariatricPal mobile app

I personally think it’s absolutely fantastic that science and medicine are creating new ways to help treat obesity! Sometimes you need more than one tool.

I would suggest a lot of research and asking a lot of questions. All of the medications come with potential risks so I would suggest you research those as well.

Also, most of the research shows that the medications will need to be take for life (maintenance dose) BUT there is not enough research done on the WLS population because most of the trials exclude people who’ve had WLS.

Good luck and let us know what you find out ❤️

Hey I am new to this process and have my first class 1/27. Did the surgery not work for you ?
It did. I lost 127 lbs. But I really could lose 100 more. Since I can't go back to revision, bypass, they arw suggesting medication.

Sent from my SM-G991U using BariatricPal mobile app

Before surgery, my surgeon put me on Ozempic, to treat my diabetes and jump start my weight loss. It worked great!

I've heard of this before - and I've heard some of the meds they have now are more effective than they used to be. Not sure what I'd do - but if you and your surgeon think they'd help, it could be worth a try. But then, that's totally up to you.