Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Pre-surgery (in 8 Days). Need Advice.

Hello everyone, this is my first time here or any kind of support group for this major step in my life. My surgery is in 8 days! I have found a lot of resistance and negative comments when I talk about it at work or even family. They tell me "just stop eating junk and exercise." Just don't eat too much, don't take the easy way out." A lot of co-workers and friends and even my husband tell me not to do it...But I have tried everything already, this is my last option...just to become healthy and be able to have a normal life again.

Please give me some hints that I can use to get me through this last week and the strict diet I have to follow. I am having a hard time in thinking I won't be able to follow this diet of just liquids for a whole 7 days!...when I'm so use to steak, chicken Etc...

Also what do I tell this people with this type of comments and how do I keep the negativity away?

You will get through the 7 day liquid diet. This is the hardest part in my opinion. Don’t keep temptation around if you can help it. Just know there is a light at the end of this tunnel.

as for the negative people/comments, tell them this is about you, not them & you don’t appreciate the negative comments. Don’t talk to them about the surgery anymore unless they bring it up. And if what they bring up is negative, either don’t respond, change the subject or say you’d rather not have their opinion at this time.

At one point In our lives we have all stopped the junk food, carbs etc. those quick fixes don’t work. It has been proven that weight loss surgery has better long term benefits than dieting. Sure, people can do it without surgery but some of us can’t.