Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I just got my FMLA paperwork to complete before my surgery. I'm a bean counter and basically spend my days glued to my desk. I also moonlight as a waitress on Saturday nights. I'm guessing that it will take me longer to get back to working at the restaurant. For my regular job I'm thinking if I'm having surgery on a Tuesday that I could possibly go back the following Monday...6 days?? How long were you out of work and what industry are you in?

Thanks [emoji16]

I am not working right now, which is one reason I did it now. But, I cannot imagine going back at 6 days. I wasn't home until the morning of day 4. I was also told not to lift anything over a gallon of milk for 6 weeks. That would be hard to stick to while waitressing.

Hey there! So from what I understand recommended leave time varies from surgeon to surgeon and is also largely dependent on the person themselves/how surgery & recovery go. I work in customer service, a desk job, and my surgeon recommends 6-12 weeks leave even with the desk job. However I think 6 weeks would be pretty standard at the earliest. Your body is healing and adjusting, don't rush it. I would suggest talking to your surgeon about their recommendation and then playing it by ear. If you and your doctor think you could go back sooner then great, but if you need more time don't be afraid to embrace that too! Hope I helped :)

From surgery day to back to work on day 8 post-op. You have to walk a lot anyway might as well work and take walking breaks. I have a part time desk job and hear I should be okay. I plan I taking it easy and being careful. I can’t even take 2 weeks never mind 6 or 12. I think that’s for heavy lifting jobs or a real active and full time careers. God bless those who can take more time to recover.