Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

The good, bad and the ugly. CARBS!

I was just chatting w/ a support buddy and I realized how confused, I actually am when it comes to carbs. I know this answer will be different per person, but just as a general question, how many carbs per day, do you allow yourself? When counting those carbs, do we count the good carbs w/ the bad, does the amount of Fiber erase some of the carbs? I'm flippin', confused!

I'm new to this too, so don't take my word for it [emoji5] But I'm in the pre-op process, and am on a low carb diet. My nutritionist said that the net carbs are the amount of carbs minus fiber. And right now, for me, a carb is a carb is a carb..... good or bad. My daily limit per my doctor and nutritionist, is 45, but I usually average around 25 per day. I'm trying really hard to lose my required weight in order to get my surgery scheduled.

Sent from my SM-N920V using BariatricPal mobile app

Before I answer, be mindful I'm 2.5 years out and active. I run 20+ miles a week and lift weights 3 times weekly, so I tolerate carbs well since my body uses them as substrate for exercise.

I eat upwards of 200 grams of carbs per day...

However, during my weight loss phase with the sleeve, I loosely kept my carb intake under 120 grams per day. Each person's body has a different tolerance to carbs.

Prior to the sleeve, my carb tolerance was piss-poor.

Before I answer, be mindful I'm 2.5 years out and active. I run 20+ miles a week and lift weights 3 times weekly, so I tolerate carbs well since my body uses them as substrate for exercise.
I eat upwards of 200 grams of carbs per day...
However, during my weight loss phase with the sleeve, I loosely kept my carb intake under 120 grams per day. Each person's body has a different tolerance to carbs.
Prior to the sleeve, my carb tolerance was piss-poor.

Wow!!! That's awesome!! I want to be like you [emoji5]

Sent from my SM-N920V using BariatricPal mobile app