Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

So I'm currently a freshman in college (19 years old) and in the early steps of the GB program - have a date for my first group meeting, making my consultation soon. Anyway, obviously I do not have my own insurance and will be going through my mother's plan. How did you guys introduce the topic of surgery for the first time and get approval? I'm away at school (a little over an hour) so I'm not home much. I want to finally bring it up to her this weekend. I will also discuss with my dad since he had it 10 yrs ago. I think my mom might be reluctant and judgemental, but we will see when we get there. (he was 400 lbs and 6'. I'm not there yet --- BUT I DON'T WANT TO BE. EVER!)

Also, how is college life post surgery? My room is right next to the gym (where students don't really go) so I plan to use it to my advantage. I also have a full kitchen in my apartment! Very excited. I want to have the surgery the week before I move in (classes will start about 2 weeks post-op if my plans work out). How hard is the adjustment? How does it work having roommates notice your work and not have them catch on that you had surgery? Any other help regarding college? Please share experiences!

ANY and ALL information and advice is truly appreciated! I am scared, nervous, and excited all at the same time.

Not a college student, but the mom of a college aged child. Your mom will be concerned because all surgery has risks and you are her child and by the very nature of the relationship, she worries about you. So, that being said, she understands what is involved since your dad had the surgery and knows what you will go through.

That being said, you are 19. You don't have to tell her and your docs don't have to talk to her unless you say so because you are an adult.