Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Do you guys use anything to help try and hope that skin won't stay too flabby? I know there's going to be excessive skin no matter, but I'd like to actively try something to help. Any recommendations?

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

I have zero personal experience, as I'm still pre-op, but I am also worried about this, so I did some homework. ;)

Here's some tips I found:

1. Drink lots of Water to keep skin hydrated. Dry skin wrinkles and stays loose rather than elastic.

2. Consume Gelatin. Pure Gelatin (like the Great Lakes brand available on Amazon) is not only a good source of Protein, but will also keep hair from falling out and skin from being loose (it also helps with elasticity). (Note: I plan on making my own Jello with the Great Lakes gelatin by adding drink mix powder for flavor.)

3. Dry brushing. Google this. It supposedly helps prevent cellulite but people also swear it helped them have tight skin after 100+lb weight loss.

4. Be cautious what lotions and potions you use on your skin. Some have chemicals and additives that will damage skin at the cellular level which prevents it from being healthy and elastic. Natural products are obviously better (and usually not so much more expensive...at least not as expensive as plastic skin removal surgery!).

Hope these tips help!

Red Light Therapy is helping with my scars and most of my stretch marks are pretty hard to see. It can really help with sagging skin.

I haven't made this yet, so no guarantees that this will work. But here's my plan. The Gelatin recipe is from Great Lakes website.

1 tablespoon Great Lakes Gelatin

1/2 cup cold liquid

1 1/2 cup hot liquid

Soften gelatin in 1/2 cup cold liquid. Dissolve thoroughly in 1 1/2 cups very hot liquid with desired flavorings and sweetening included as a part of liquid measure. Pour into 2 cup mold and chill until firm before unmolding. Serves 4.