Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Old Habits, Fear

In May I will have been banded for 2 years and I'm still learning about myself and this band. I got back into the dreaded scale habit. For the first year and 1/2 I was banded I didn't own a scale, I would only weigh myself at my monthly dr. check-ups, well then my surgeon basically overnight became no more and I found myself in the position that I had to find a new dr., so after 3 months without a weigh-in it was driving me crazy I knew my clothes were fitting the same - (which is the all time measurement), but I broke down and bought a scale. At first I did well, I weighed myself once a week. I had my first consultation with my new dr. and my weight was exactly the same as it was 3-months prior. The following week we went to Jamaica for vacation and I didn't allow myself to worry with calories etc., that is until I got home and then the first thing I did was jump on that scale and the numbers revealed what I had feared, I had gone up almost 4lbs. For me this was the first time since being banded that I SAW my # on the scale go up. It undoubtedly did along the way but because I didn't see it, no harm no foul. Immediately I went into panic mode because I new the next couple of weeks following was Christmas and then New Years, blah, blah, blah, so for the last month, I've been on that dang scale 1-2 times a day. Seeing those same 4lbs go up and down. Bad habits die hard. I need to go back to what has worked for me all along and only allow the scale to see the light of day once a month.