Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What Was The Worst... (Newbie Here!)

Part of your journey?

I am new to this whole thing. I've thought about WLS for a while but just recently really started researching. I've been reading the forums here for a couple of weeks, but this is my first post. I went to one seminar in my hometown last week, and am going to the next closest one next week (about 50 miles away). I feel like I should look into at least two options before I settle on one. The whole decision making process is proving to be both scary and exciting, but I'm about 75% sure as of right now. It may take me another 3 information sessions to make up my mind, but I'm ok with that. I've been overweight my entire life- so what's a few more months?! I just want to be sure I'm doing the right thing for me.

A little history... I just turned 29 and have been overweight my entire life. Ove the past several years, I have gotten sever parts of my life in order that really needed working on. My weight, I feel, is the last really big piece and I'm finally in a place where I'm ready and able to deal with it. At my past PCP visit last week we discussed my options for losing weight and she mentioned surgery as an option since I am young and healthy. She also mentioned that I had been seeing her for 7 years and my weight has stayed within a 15 pound range for the entire time, which she said was actually very good in terms of surgery because it means I'm very stable with my habits.

Thanks for listening. I look forward to learning from you all!

Hi Alexis & welcome to VST. Like you, my PCP recommended weight loss surgery, even though I'm retired (65-yrs. old). I have other health issues such as sleep apnea, high blood pressure, Type-ll Diabetes, etc., so weight loss surgery seems to be the right way to go.