Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Does stress effect weight loss?

Helloah!!

Just wondering if stress effects weight loss and if anyone out there has experienced this?

I am not looking for excuses, but curious ... I am a teacher in a comprehensive school (age 11-16) and I LOVE my job! I lvoe being in the classroom and interacting with my pupils; I love to see them learn and progress, to see the 'light' come on when they understand new things. I love watching them grow and mature into decent young adults who are preparing to face the adult world!

However, more recenty my role is changing... I am now being given more admin work and reponsibilty to do and initially it was under duress... back in Dec I started to feel really stressed and pressure in work, this has manifested itself into nasty headaches that have more recently turned to Migraines. Not nice! I am doing my best, but to be honest I feel like I am drowning and I am desperately trying to tread Water.

This is an unusual position for me because I usually thrive off some stress, and deal with it well and move on. I hope I come across as a positive person, who sees her glass as half full not half empty! I am not used to long periods feeling like this and I don't like it. Do I need to learn new coping stratergies now I don't have food?

I am hitting the gym more now, hoping that it would relieve the stress, but if truth be known it just makes me tired and I do less work when I get home... a double sided sword?

Will this effect my weight loss as well as my mood? Has anyone else been in a similar position? I know I need to get myself sorted in work and find the energy to get things done... I am working on it as best I can!

Any words of wisdom for a stressed Coops?

Meditation helps if you can relax enough.