Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Very Sad - Not Covered By Uhc

Hello All,

New here... thought about surgery off and on for a while now. I just assumed my insurance covered this. Well, I just got off the phone with United Health Care and they confirmed that I am not covered. I am a school psychologist with Atlanta Public Schools. I've seen numerous posts here from people who have been covered by UHC and am soooooo upset that mine doesn't cover it. Specifically, I have UHC Choice Plus and it's been great until now. The person I spoke with on the phone said they stopped covering it at the beginning of 2012. I pulled up my benefits page online to reconfirm. I guess the school system got tired of paying for these surgeries and that's why they pulled it from their contract/coverage.

My only option now is to see what other insurance policies/companies are offered when we have our open enrollment period next month. Open enrollment is the only time during the year we are allowed to change insurance policies. Perhaps there will be another policy that covers it but I have a feeling that if the school system took it off of their UHC policies, they probably took it off all policies offered.

I'm so upset.

Really sorry to hear that Lisa. I don't understand why insurance company's choose to pay for treatments like B/P, Diabetes, heart disease & strokes instead of stopping it before it gets to that point. Hopefully you can choose another policy at enrollment time.

Best wishes!

I am in Ontario, Canada. The lap band isnt covered here either by our private insurance or our government OHIP.

So I decided that I would get financing and have the surgery done.

I have put us in debt for the next 6 years but I decided I am worth it.

Hope you can find a company to cover it or maybe you could also self pay.

Lynn

I am in Ontario' date=' Canada. The lap band isnt covered here either by our private insurance or our government OHIP.

Lynn[/quote']