Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello all. I'm Juli. I am 5'9, my current weight is 245 and my BMI is 36.2. As an elementary music teacher, I am looking forward to having more energy and less injury with my students.

It's been three years since I first attended a weight-loss seminar and the "beginning" is finally in sight. Originally, I went through all the lab-work, psych consult, supervised diet for 3 months, and was ready to submit everything to insurance for approval. Then, one roadblock after another found its way in front of me... 3 surgeries followed by my mother's diagnoses and death from cancer. Now, finally after redoing psych visit, lab work, nutritional consult, and sleep study, I was approved by BCBS of Texas on the first try! (TRS Active Care).

My Surgeon is Dr. Todd Wilson of MIST Houston. The pre-op is August 24th and my surgery will be on August 29th, 2012. The surgery will be at Memorial Hermann Hospital in Houston.

Best of luck!!

Good luck Juli! Your surgery is the day before mine!

Good luck Juli! mine is 9/10/2012

I'm getting banded 9/4....I'm super excited for this chapter of my life :)

Hi Juli, I'm in Houston too. I got banded on 8/1/12. Your gonna love it! I hope you have as easy a time as I have. I am just a little over 2 weeks post op and feeling great!

Hi Lucie,

Are you able to go back to work yet? I'm really anxious about the timing of my surgery... two days after school starts. Did you have shoulder pain? I had my gallbladder out last year and my shoulder hurt really bad afterwards. I've heard there might be similar pain with the banding.

Oh wow Juli you have had a rough 3 years. Sorry about your mom, but now its your time to be the star and shine your way to a smooth healthy life. Congrats

Aw, thank you Slim&Sexy. You made me smile. Juli