Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

after starting this process in January, going through a 6 month supervised diet program and a psychiatric evaluation, i've been approved for surgery on august 30th. i was hoping for an earlier surgery. i have been asking my surgeon's office since April to schedule me earlier and they refused until they officially received my approval letter. i'm a teacher and was really hoping to go through the surgical and recovery process while out for summer break. i'm thinking about switching doctors so that i can have the surgery earlier.

so thankful to be approved, but also disappointed that it's for august 30th. kind of pissed off actually since i practically begged the doctors office to schedule me earlier. has anyone had any luck changing doctors in order to get an earlier surgery date?

Sorry for the wait, but at least you are done the 6 months :thumbup: I have a question for you.. I had my initial consult today, and they want me to show that I have already done 6 months of WW, but all I have is my credit card statements.. what proof did you have to give them?

well Skat, that should be enough, my doctors wanted me to provide as much as possible. it wasn't enough so they suggested i do the 6 month diet. do you have anything else like you books that show your progress? did you just pay and not attend? try to submit what you have. if you doctors office feels like it's not enough and you'll be denied they will suggest the 6 month diet. it's a long and arduous process but will pay off in the end.

good luck

While I understand your frustration, keep in mind that if it is through your insurance this is THEIR policy not the doctors office. I cant not even begin to look at a surgery date until my 6 months is up and waiting for the insurance approval which can take up to an additional 8 weeks. I am not sure about the doctor you are going to but ours is a very busy man so he booked far in advance!