Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi, all! I'm very new to this so please bear with me. I just had my appt with my surgeon today and I have my appt with my nutritionists next week. I'm very excited to start this journey in my weight loss mad new life! The only problem that I really have is that I am not good with physical pain. What were your experiences? Was it something that lasted very long? If there was pain, were you able to take anything? Thanks for any info that will help me!

Hi - Post op pain is really different for all of us and I'm not really sure if there's any way to predict how YOU will react. Personally, I didn't require any pain meds after the first night (not even Tylenol). Post op, the best advice I was given was to WALK WALK WALK to help get the gas out. Feels VERY strange at first when you walk and start burping! There was definitely some discomfort swallowing for the first week or so, then one day it just went away. Again, I can't stress enough that everyone is different and I've heard stories of much more pain, but in general most people seem to feel like it's worth it in the long run!

Good luck and congrats on starting your journey!

Pain is all across the board, but the majority of us have little to no pain with these surgeries. I had none. I didn't even bother opening the bottle of pain pills they sent me home with. If you're one of the minority that has a lot of pain with this, you WILL have pain meds with you that you can take to keep on top of it. It usually just lasts a few days.

15 hours ago, HBurgeOlexa said: