Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How Long Until They Set the Date?

Hi, newbie here.

I saw the surgeon for the first time back in Nov 2017. Was put on the standard pre-op procedure (diet, physical, psych eval) and was recommended to get the sleeve. Saw him the second time in March 2018 for a follow-up. Thought we were going to set the date but he wanted to put me on another 6 months review. When I said "that's too long, how about 3 months?", he hesitated but the nurse reminded him that this was my 2nd appointment.

Apparently, he'd forgotten that I'd seen him before. I'll be seeing him for the 3rd time soon. What should I do, guys? I want to set the date already. It's one thing if he thought my stats were not good so he postponed the surgery but it looked like he was just absent-minded. Is it appropriate to push him for a date?

Where are you from? The program seems to be different where I am, (Boston mass) the surgeon basically waits for insurance approval while making sure you follow the program to help with the approval.

I'm in Asia. The cost will be subsidized by the govt but I could try to get my insurance to pay for the rest if it's deemed a life-saving procedure. But from what I know insurance doesn't usually cover WLS here so I'm not holding my breath. The 2nd follow-up felt like such a waste of time that I don't wish to repeat that with my 3rd. Any advice on how to move things along is appreciated.

If using insurance contact the company and get exactly what they need before authorization. Once you have that contact surgery scheduled to submit all your files to insurance. Be proactive. Call insurance company make sure they received it. Call again until you find out if approved. Once approved call the scheduler back and let them know you are approved and ready to schedule.

Sorry - contact the surgery scheduler at the office - auto correct