Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Healthy Eating on a budget

I have an extremely low budget when it comes to what I have left out of my check for food. It's so hard to find healthy things for low prices. My main focus is on Protein and thats what my doctor wants me to primarily focus on anyway. I've tried out HelloFresh meal delivery and it's not bad but I work overnight and my husband is on second shift so it doesn't make sense to buy something every week that may not get cooked. I've even tried couponing but I'm not very good at it. What can I do to make sure I'm getting the right nutrients, saving money and time, and stay in the right lane of what I'm supposed to be doing? (High Protein, Low Carb, Low Calorie) And so I'm not eating the same type of protein every day, because I like to mix things up a little.

And what are some good recipes?

2 minutes ago, Ms. Brightside said:

Do you have a Trader Joe's or Aldi nearby?

Sent from my SM-G930P using BariatricPal mobile app

I do have an Aldi about an hour away. What do you recommend?

Oh my goodness. Well, could you go once a month or so & stock up on essentials? Everything is cheap at Aldi.

Outside of that, what about Walmart or Sam's Club (especially frozen goods)?

Sent from my SM-G930P using BariatricPal mobile app

There are many sources of Protein that are cheap, healthy and quick to prepare:

1. eggs ($0.53 per dozen at Aldi); you can scramble them, hard-boil them, fry them, top them with melted cheese, or salsa, or Tabasco sauce, or salt & pepper, or fresh veggies such as sauteed bell peppers and chopped tomatoes, or other protein sources such as chopped ham.

2. Tilapia ($5.49 per 32-ounce bag at Aldi); one fillet has 100 calories and 20 grams of protein. Look up recipes for blackened Tilapia. Serve this fish with steamed veggies for a filling meal.