Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Selfish? Work wise.

I posted this in general but am planning on the sleeve so I wanted to touch base with everyone here due to the need for time off. Sorry if it is all over the place below, I had a really tough emotional day.

I should know this week when will have surgery but should be mid Dec. I am a little concerned as I just got back from a 10 day vacation from work. I give my all to my job and to be honest my job doesn't really care much about their employees but I do have a concern that I will be taking off.

I don't want to tell them the reason for fear they will feel it is elective and I could wait (technically i could but job stability is an issue) I guess I just needed to vent and see what others have to say about feeling bad for your job.

I know it sounds silly, most people i know think I am crazy but I feel overwhelmed at leaving my area in the state it is in (I am a district manager) but I also feel I have almost 100 hours that can be used towards FMLA and I should take time that I need.

My plan is to base it off of what the doctor suggests and then I could always try to go back part time or work from home.

Does anyone else have this stress going on when it comes to time off work? Am I being selfish as I just had vacation. (Vacation was booked earlier this yeay way before my WLS path)

I think everyone is different but, personally I went back to work after 1 week off and do feel I could have done it sooner. I work in a factory and gave a fairly physically demanding job so I hope this shines some light on your situation. All in all I had zero pain and only some discomfort and tightness from a hernia repair.

I posted this in general but am planning on the sleeve so I wanted to touch base with everyone here due to the need for time off. Sorry if it is all over the place below, I had a really tough emotional day.