Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Has AIC (Diabetic lowered/got normal nos) totally gone after sleeve surgery ?

Hi,

I'm new to this. I was recently diagonsed with Type2 diabetic and my A1C was 8 and now I'm on metamorphin 500mg once a day and my doc told me to take a blood preasure medicine, though my preasure was normal, but said that you need to coz preasure meds need to be taken when diabetic.

I would like to please know if anybody who has had the sleeve surgery, been able to totally be diabetic free and off meds. Has the A1C become normal and if so, how long would it be, before you see results. I am extremely worried, coz both my parents are diabetic and my parents have been insulin dependent for a few decades, so I dont know if it is genetic and will ever go away.

How long is it advisable to take time off work ? coz I dont have leave since I just started a new job. My job is not very hectic coz I have a desk job and do my work in the computer all day.

I do not have my surgery date yet and dont know what to expect, though this website has been extremely helpful to get more insight or knowledge into what to expect and what not to.

Any response, would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

I found this article, which might be of some help:

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2014/11/141106082038.htm

Welcome to BP!! You'll find a lot of encouragement and information here.

As a diabetic, I was told to discontinue my Metformin (500 mg. 2x/day) prior to surgery, and have not gone back on it. Pre-surgery & on Metformin, my A1C maintained around 5.8 on average - managed with food, exercise, and Metformin. Post-surgery, my A1C as of mid-February was 5.7 - now managed with food & exercise only. Also, my blood pressure medication has been discontinued since just before surgery. We're keeping an eye on it because my diastolic pressure runs a little high due to me having diastolic dysfunction.

Good luck on your journey!!