Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How is it possible for me to gain5 lbs on one day if all I ate yesterday was 8 oz protien shake throughout the day and about 3/4 cup total between two meals of pureed watered down Turkey Chile? Other than that just water..crystal light and SF popsicles for liquids..also did the treadmill for 20 min...how did this happen?

I'm no expert and am only 20 days out but I was stalled for a few days where I didn't lose anything! From what I've read don't weigh yourself everyday. Your body weight fluctuates daily. Also your body is still adjusting to the surgery so your metabolism is still trying to figure things out. Just from what I've read. My grandma is also a nurse and said if you're not eating your 3 meals and 2 Snacks your body will go into "starvation mode" and try to keep the fat. Just some words to think on. Like I said I'm not an expert just what I've heard and read (: good luck!

The simple answer is "You didn't gain 5 pounds in one day." In order to gain 5 pounds (in any period of time), you would have had to consume 17,500 more calories than you consumed. Probably not possible with your new tiny tummy, right?

You just had major surgery and your body is trying to figure out what you did to it. Your brain wants the scale to move, which it will, once your body figures things out.

I have a couple of suggestions -

1. don't weigh yourself every day. It will drive you crazy. My husband hides the scale and brings it out once per week. I've read some docs don't want you to weigh the first month.

2. Stick to your plan - the plan provided by your doctor or NUT. They know best. There is no way you're not losing weight.

3. Be patient - you didn't gain this weight in a month, you can't expect to lose it in a month.

Hang in there, sweetie. This isn't a spring, it's a marathon.