Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How much time did you take off from work?

I'm trying to figure out how much time I should bank. So could you post how much time you took off and what kind of work you do?

I'm a programmer but might end up working in a huge print room due to government cut backs. I work 13 hours shifts three days straight.

So how much time did you take and was it enough?

I took 6 weeks. My doctor had me approved to go back after 4 but I asked for an extension. I stand for 9 hours a day with barely any breaks. There was just no way I could do that after 4 weeks. I've been back to work for a little over a week now and feel fine. 6 weeks was perfect for me but I have friends that went back after 4 weeks because they sit at a desk all day and they were fine.

Surgery: 8/13/13 HW 319 SW 287 CW 258

I went back 10 days post op.

Sent from my iPhone using RNYTalk

My doctor but me out for 6 weeks and I took it all. Physically, I was healed at 2 weeks but, progressing through the different eating phases, getting all the required fluids and getting into an exercise routine takes some time. I wanted to be prepared as possible when I went back to work.

How long until you can drive after surgery ?
I was driving after 10 days. You have to be off pain meds and feel comfortable twisting left and right. I am an elementary teacher and took 3 weeks off. I was exhausted everyday after work. 5 weeks off would've been great.

I took two weeks off and planned to go back half days on week three. By the end of week three I was back full time. I felt too good to sit at home and do nothing!!

I only took 2 weeks off and acted as if it was a vacation . I was a little tired in the evenings but I went for short walks to wake me up. Pack a small lunch bag and your liquids. Granted I have a sit down job so it was fine for me. I'm 5 1/2 weeks out and I feel great!