Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Self pay initial consult question

Hello,

I'm just beginning the process and will probably be self pay. I'm wondering about the cost of the initial consultation. Specifically, I'm in GA but any input would help. I'm guessing it isn't a free initial consultation, but would love to be pleasantly surprised!

Also, if you are self pay (in the US) do you have to pay out of pocket for all of the initial tests and evaluations or is that part of the total cost? I know 6 months of postop checkups is included. Would my insurance cover the initial testing if they are not covering the WLS?

Thanks for any guidance!

Red

I am looking at going self pay myself. I can't help you with the first question but will share what I know about the second.

The doctor I am looking at includes the pre-op tests in the fee (which looks like it will be around 18K). I've looked at a number of other websites and some specifically say pre-op tests aren't included.

If you're like me and like to gather up as much info as possible, give the doctor's office a call.

Good luck!

I was self pay in Florida. I had to pay $250 for my initial consult, but that rolled into my surgeons fees. All of my preop testing I bike through insurance and just had to pay the copay that went along with them...they have covered their part on everything.

The two "surprises" I had through the whole thing is I had 2 chest X-rays required during preop and I did not know until I got the bill I was responsible for it, as well as my surgeon required a biopsy of the stomach after its removed that was not a part of my package either, so post op I had an additional $400 in bills between these two things. So just clarify when you meet with the financial person what is covered in their package and what is not.

Let me know if you have any other questions. I was sleeved in the us and my husband in Mexico, we have a bit of knowledge in the self pay column.