Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Is anyone else absolutely surprised at how many nurses are getting band? I am a critical care nurse and on here find just about 1 out of 3 people I talk to are in the medical field. Do we as a profession just live unhealthy lifestyles of tending to others and not our selves? Or is it our knowledge base of the procedure that leads us to the surgery? Just a thought in my head this morning...

As caregivers we only think of others. My weight was surely affecting my ability to do my job especially standing on my feet for 12 hours and working in rehab, then surgery. I think knowledge plays a big part of it as well because we know all the risk associated with the surgeries but yes we for the most part eat unhealthy because there is barely time in a 12hour shift to sit for 30 minutes and eat healthy food. Its easier to grab Cookies that patients brought to you or candy or all the crap that is always sitting at the nurses station then to pack lunch or eat horrid hospital food. I would say that over the years the sweets took a toll on me for the most part because it was just easier to grab then actually sit down and eat when there wasnt enough time to eat. A doughnut was better than having nothing I thought at that time.

The reality is that "healthcare workers" really are "sickcare workers". Healthcare is fixing symptoms of sickness, not teaching one to be healthy. So no, this is no surprise to me!

I have always been in the medical field up until lately. I personally don't feel that it affected my ability to care for myself I think that I just made bad choices when it came to food and I was lazy exercise wise. lol. I guess that all depends though. I did have to stand on my feet 12 hours a day and tend to others...You'd think I'd have lost weight by running around all day, but I guess I outweighed the exercise with bad food choices.