Jump to content
×
Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

time2

Pre Op
  • Content Count

    10
  • Joined

  • Last visited

3 Followers

About time2

  • Rank
    Novice

About Me

  • Gender
    Female

Recent Profile Visitors

1,245 profile views
I am a 61 year old retired mom and wife who moved three years ago from WV to OK to be near my daughter and son-in-law. I have been overweight my entire life. Two years ago I was diagnosed as pre-diabetic and have been able to get such under control limiting carb intake. I decided that I must just be meant to function at this weight as I have the same body type as my mom and her mother had. Then three things happened...I tore the meniscus in my knee in November, 2013, upon stepping down from a curb and had arthroscopic in February. I found out then that both my knees are bone on bone from arthritis and my weight. I hadn't noticed my knees hurting until I was told how bad they are! The second thing that happened was in March 2014, I had my hair done by a different hairdresser (who was in her 20's) and I just happened to ask her if she had ever been overweight. She told me she had just lost 135 pounds with the gastric sleeve. I started to think about having such and talked with my endocrinologist who referred me in April to a surgeon. I went through the paperwork process and my insurance approved me on the 1st try. There is a 12 month medical weight loss supervision diet and a requirement of losing 5% of my weight before surgery. I can do that but the 12 month waiting period is so long! The third thing that happened is that my daughter is due to have a baby (our first and probably only grandchild) during the month of May, 2014. My husband and and are to help with the care giving for the child. (We want to and that was part of the long-term plan in moving close to her.) The good thing about the 12 month waiting period is that my granddaughter should be walking and able to be at daycare by my surgery time--the good of social interaction with other children for her is what I need to remind myself! I want to to able to move around and play with my granddaughter and live a long life to share with her. I found BariatricPal through a Google search and hope to benefit from the support and information on the boards. I see my surgeon in 2 weeks and expect (hope) the surgery to be in early June, 2015, or sometime that summer.

Height: 5 feet 4 inches
Starting Weight: 235 lbs
Weight on Day of Surgery:
Current Weight:
Goal Weight: 150 lbs
Weight Lost:
BMI:
Surgery:
Surgery Status: Pre Surgery
First Dr. Visit: 05/22/2014
Surgery Date: 06/10/2015
Hospital Stay: n/a
Surgery Funding: Insurance
Insurance Outcome: 1st Letter Approval
time2's Bariatric Surgeon

PatchAid Vitamin Patches

×