Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Help please! Don't want my surgery cancelled!

ARGH! My kids were sick Friday (pink eye and sore throats) and they're taking antibiotic eyedrops. I've been fighting like the devil to stay healthy. I'm due to be banded tomorrow. No problem with pink eye (phew!), but my throat has really been hurting and looks pretty irritated to my untrained eyes. I hope they wouldn't cancel my surgery over it. (It's too late in the day to get out to my PCP today). If I don't have a fever (and I don't so far), do I have to mention this tomorrow morning? I'm guessing a fever would cancel surgery?? Otherwise would it be a go? I'm gonna have a sore throat anyway when they remove the breathing tube, right? Any advice? :confused2:

I'm not a doctor so this is strictly my opinion. I really don't think a sore throat should cancel surgery. I mean, a fever, the flu or something like that I can understand.

I definately tell them before the surgery. You really don't want to have any complications due to something you thought was trivial. I'd let them know. Good luck to you. Dianne

Always be honest with medica staff, especially when it comes to something like surgery. Being dishonest, even by omission, shouldn't even be on the radar of things to consider. Health and life are way too important.

A sore throat from a virus, and a sore throat from the breathing tube, are very different things. You can't really say "well it would be sore anyway." It's not about the sore, it's about the cause. And no, it's not necessarily going to be sore after surgery. Mine wasn't a bit sore with either surgery I've had in the lsat 2 years.

Thanks for your reponses. Those are really valid points. Maybe I'm just panicking? :sneaky: I will be sure to mention it tomorrow morning.