Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

post-op return to work

I will be having my surgery in January. I am curious as to how soon after surgery your doctor recommended/released you to return to work. As part of the initial seminar, they say you can have your surgery, go home the same day (if all is well), and return to work the very next day. How realistic is this? thanks.:ranger:

I could not have gone back to work the next day. I was banded on Thursday and went back to work Tuesday and it was doable but I would have loved another day or two. I'm a teacher and on my feet a lot but I have some time between classes when I could rest a bit. A lot depends on your job.

I took 2 weeks, but only because I had sick days available. I could've easily gone back after 1 week. The second week I just considered a mental health week to catch up and get aquainted with my new band and eating schedule. I had my surgery on Monday and didn't actually feel good until Saturday. Of course I had staples in my inscisions and they didn't get removed until the Wednesday of the 2nd week. They really started to itch and bother me by then. If you have the time, don't rush it.

I stayed overnight in the hospital, since I was banded out of town and had to be there to do the barium swallow anyway. I can't imagine going back to work the next day. I had surgery on Monday and had it very easy. No pain meds once out of recovery room. No shoulder pain. No nausea. But, I was very swollen with gas and sitting at my desk would have been tough. Also, had some "looseness" inside and would have hated to run to the ladies room. Yikes. By Thursday, I could have gone back, but I was worried I might catch one of the colds that was going around the office. I went in half a day on Friday and was back full time on Monday.