Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Starting the process!

I just started the process of inquiring into Bariatric Surgery even though I’ve been considering it for years. I’m 43 and have been overweight since I graduated from high school. I’m currently 5’9, 254, and my BMI is 37.

I was diagnosed with Hashimotos hypothyroidism 3 years ago. I suffer from GERD and recently found out that I have high cholesterol and Hepatic Steatosis. My endocrinologist just ordered a sleep apnea test for me because she thinks I might also have that.

Within the last 6 years I’ve tried every weight loss medication out there and have had some success but have always gained the weight back.

Once I found out I had fatty liver disease (I had an MRI for abdominal pain) I decided I really needed to get serious and do something about my weight and my health.

I know I have a food addiction and also a crappy metabolism due to my thyroid issues.

So the first thing I did was contact my insurance company to see if it was a covered benefit and what the plan rules were. My insurance is BCBC of Michigan (Although I live in Ohio and it’s administered through Medical Mutual), covers bariatric surgery 100% if I have qualifying comorbidities. The insurance requires that I have tried a medically supervised diet for six months within the last 4 years (which I actually did in 2018- I was on Saxenda for 7 months and only lost 20 lbs but gained that back).

Once I found out that it might be covered, I contacted 3 hospitals to inquire about bariatric surgery. (I did this in Jan. 5th). All three Hospitals have forms that you fill out on their websites after your watch a mandatory video. I guess now it’s a waiting game for the Hospitals to get back to you? One of my friends had WLS last year and she told me that it could take a few weeks before the hospitals call you back.