Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Good Morning Everyone & Happy Friday!

This is my first time on this website as I have recently started researching WLS and would appreciate any advice out there, but especially from those in my area (I am in PA, at the Berks/Chester County line, in between Reading & Philly).

My first question is if anyone started out in my situation: We are self-employed and have "individual" health coverage. We are on IBC with the Keystone Health Plan East *** Platinum Plan, and I am wondering if anyone has ever had this surgery covered by an ***? Just investigating my personal page on the IBC website shows me a list of exclusions, and bariatric surgery is listed as an exclusion. I guess I was just questioning whether that is a flat out, hard rule, or if there are opportunities for coverage depending on circumstances? I know I can't be 100% sure without calling & talking to them, but they have given me bad information about how to get claims reimbursed before that never panned out, so I am not sure I really trust them. I just thought if Anyone had used KHPE to pay for their surgery, it would give me some hope that it is possible. If not, my husband and I are seriously considering a switch for just me to Personal Choice PPO for January. We were already considering that because of back problems I have so I would have more choices in facilities I could go to, but this could definitely help push the decision over the edge.