Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How many weeks to request off

Im a nurse. I work in a nicu so I work with small babies but still some babies are 8lbs or more and I was wondering how long I should request off. I know some people are good after a week. I was gonna do 2 weeks but im worried that wont be enough?

Really just depends on how well you are doing after surgery. I am a month post op and am still so tired and get nauseous and dizzy. Luckily I am a stay at home mom but it is hard to keep up with my 2 year old when I have no energy.

Edited by Ella's Mommy

6 hours ago, MelissaRose24 said:

Im a nurse. I work in a nicu so I work with small babies but still some babies are 8lbs or more and I was wondering how long I should request off. I know some people are good after a week. I was gonna do 2 weeks but im worried that wont be enough?

Could you request 3 weeks with the understanding that you could come back after 2, or does the scheduling not allow for that? I returned to work after 2 1/2 weeks but I have a desk job. It was mainly being tired and not having a lot of energy that made the first week rough. If you're used to being on your feet and moving around it might not be so bad. It's really hard to give solid advice as we all handle post-op life differently. I've seen some say they wish they could have taken more than 4 weeks off and others that were back to work in only a few days.

Our doc mandated 2 weeks minimum. He wanted 4 weeks but told them there was no way I could with work.

My surgery is next week, and my doc has me out for 6 weeks, with a possible option (at her discretion) to return after only 4.

My surgery is on a Wednesday and I'm returning to work the following Monday, so 1.5 weeks.