Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How long will this process take?

Hello, I have just started this surgery track at umass in worcester,ma. I am 5'6 240lbs with sleep apnea and a few secondary conditions. I have my first consults with surgeon and psych next week. How long from these initial appointments is the average time until surgery?
I have been working with their weight-loss center for 6 months tracking food and exercise and have only fluctuated 5-10lbs. Nervous, anxious and excited to get the ball rolling.

For me, I started the process on July 22nd and had surgery Nov 1st. About 3 months. The time actually went by very quickly. Good luck!

It took me a year from the day I started my education/supervised diet (6 months of monthly classes) to when I finally was able to get it approved and scheduled. My insurer had a lot of prerequisites and then I just needed to find a good window of time where I could get it done.

I have my first appointment on Thursday for my initial consultation. My insurance does not have a waiting period so they told me it could be anywhere from 2-3 months depending on how soon I was able to schedule all appointments and if everything went smoothly. They said total would be about 11 appointments. I'm going to Lahey in Burlington, MA.

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

From feb 16 until nov 28th of 16, surgery date. Depends on the insurance you have and their rules.

Sent from my SM-N920P using the BariatricPal App

Thank You! This all gives me a bit of an idea of what to expect as far as timing goes. Especially since I have already been working with them for a few months it could be in the first quarter of next year! I'd love to have it done before I turn 30 in May.