Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Any Torah observant Sleevers?

I am a newbie here. I added this subject to another forum and was directed here. I have been told by others that the Torah is against this surgery. I am scheduled for sleeve surgery 11/16/15. I loved what another person on this site said but thought I would move the subject here. I still struggle as if I'm doing something wrong but know beyond everything that if I don't my quality of life will continue to decrease! Has anyone else struggled like this?

Have you talked to your Rabbi? I'm not jewish but I would think that would be the best place to go to find out exactly the doctrine of your faith on the subject.

Maybe because some may interpret you are mutilating what God created in his image?

But then isn't obesity to some extent?

Maybe ask a Rabbi who is of the Reformed faith. I believe God will judge me on the content of my character not my surgically altered stomach.

I am a newbie here. I added this subject to another forum and was directed here. I have been told by others that the Torah is against this surgery. I am scheduled for sleeve surgery 11/16/15. I loved what another person on this site said but thought I would move the subject here. I still struggle as if I'm doing something wrong but know beyond everything that if I don't my quality of life will continue to decrease! Has anyone else struggled like this?

Hi I am curious, do you have a rabbi who said that the surgery is against the Torah? I find that strange since I know many orthodox and very observant jews with many forms of bariatric surgery. It would never have occurred to me to discuss this with my rabbi since Judaism clearly supports life and health over any other law. I would be curious to hear what your rabbi said about this since you seemed to feel that it was against the torah.