Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Did you do anything special before surgery?

I am wondering if anyone on here did or is doing anything special for themselves before their surgery? I think I will treat myself to a Shellac pedicure before I go in. I don't have my date yet, but looking for ideas.

Thanks!

Yes! I'm sorta ashamed to say, I did the food funeral! Mine took place the day before my post op diet began and was held at an amazing brazzilian steak house, ended with a chocolate souffle all to myself! After that, I made a list of things I will do for myself at each 10lb loss and things I avoided for years that I would tackle as soon as I was medically clear. Like, wear a bathing suit, go to a Water park, wear real shorts to Disney, wear a dress with no sleeves and so on. All things I had been hiding and not doing for many years like someone in witness protection! I vowed I would push my limit's and stop saying. ..I'll do it when...and I really have. I'm living life and pretty happy with how I feel and how others seem to react differently to me as well. I hope you do something special too, it's been a long time coming I'm sure!

I am supposed to take a extended weekend trip to Louisville KY w/ my best friend to see her daughter who I am also very close to. I have been hesitant b/c I don't want to go on vacation feeling 'fat' but I think this is something I need to do...try southern foods and fine whiskey (which I am a huge fan of)!! This is supposed to be the week before my surgery so it's a prime time. I also plan to make a bucket list for each 10 pounds I lose of things I have stopped doing for myself- manucures, a massage, a day trip, etc. I am so ready for this journey!!

My kids (13 & 24) and I are going to Atlanta for DragonCon (yes, I'm a nerd) Labor Day weekend. We get back on the 7th and my surgery is the 10th. This is the last time I'll go at the size I am!! WHOOP!