Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Struggles with Living Away From Home

It's been a long time since I visited this site, but I've hit a spot in my life where I'm struggling and realizing I need to go back and find some support to help me through it.

I currently live in the Middle East, in a small country called Qatar located on a peninsula next to Saudi Arabia. I am a researcher/instructor at the Texas A&M University campus and have been here since the middle of September. When I arrived here, I was weighing in the low-to-mid 170s every day. After only 3.5 months here, I just this morning crossed the 190 line, something I thought I'd NEVER do again.

food choices here are good, but my ability to make proper choices is hampered somewhat. I do not have access to the Protein Shakes that I love and learned to rely on, I do not have access to good nutritional information about foods I find here, and I do not have access to the low calorie selections that were the staple of my life before moving here (low-cal bread, sugar free Jello, Progresso Light Soups, etc.)

I'm trying so hard to get back on the bandwagon, realizing that I really only have a short window of time to get control before things get totally out of hand. So here I am, back again, planning on hanging out here again in order to pick up tips, keep the focus on good health, and interact with the community that understands.

Bea from Doha, Qatar

(Surgery date: July 30, 2013)

post-181391-0-38406000-1421033682_thumb.jpg

You just have to adjust to the food there. I know it's challenging, but from what I know of the Middle East they do have tasty things like hummus and yogurt. A quick google gave me this and I believe the region has plenty of dairy and poultry. Not a lot of processed food, but plenty of good choices to support a bariatric diet.

Edited by BLERDgirl