Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Preparing for Surgery

I am new to this.

I am in Indianapolis, IN. Margaret Inman will be my surgeon.

I have my psychological evaluation completed, my insurance approval, and today I paid the deposit for the surgery. I will be scheduled for pre-op testing within the next day or so. I hope to have the surgery before the end of the February, and I am having the DS.

I know three people that had the same procedure I am having. Two did very well with it, one did not and ended up in a coma for 26 days, and then had to go to physical rehab for 60 days more. We found out later that his complications were caused by his lying about quitting smoking.

All three people have lost tremedous amounts of weight.

I am scared and excited at the same time.

So, I wanted to throw that out there.

@ Welcome to the group! Good luck on your upcoming surgery! Keep us updated!

Sounds pretty normal to me. :) I was nuts, excited, scared, anxious and hyper before my DS.

Edited by Postop

Postop, your before/after pictures are amazing! You don't even look like the same person. I had a different procedure than you did, but I'm hoping for just as a dramatic difference in my appearance. I have my fingers crossed. So far, I haven't had a fill yet in my band, but with my stomach plication, I can only "eat" (still on the liquid diet) about a cup of Soup before I feel full.

Gail, I've started my own post inquiring about this, but may I ask what exactly contributed to your friend being in a coma? Was it a result of smoking after he had surgery or before? I have recently quit smoking myself and am curious now how long I should wait to have the surgery. Good luck with yours!