Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

21 and wanting a new me

HEY, I'm Makayla!

I'm from Texas and have made the decision to have WLS

Oops I accidently pressed send. Anyways I've decided to have WLS, my mom had it done in March by Dr. Alvarez and has had AMAZING results! I'm a nursing student and have a year left until graduation, I feel like in my profession I need to be an image of health. Which I'm not. My parents have had relationship issues following the surgery, which has really opened my eyes to the fact that I want to do this before I find the person I want to marry so I will be the person my future husband has always known me as. I guess I just want to know how people my age feel after getting to their goal weight. Also since I am a college kid I do like to part take in partying, What is drinking like after having the surgery?

I'm 19 and am a nursing student. I am 3 days post-op and am doing great. I would highly recommend getting the surgery done but you have to be ready to make a huge commitment to changing your lifestyle. Most surgeon's recommend waiting until at least 6 months after surgery to start drinking and then you should be aware that you are drinking empty calories so until you get down to goal weight you should really take it easy. Alcohol also absorbs quicker so you will be a cheap date. I wouldn't expect to go to parties and be able to drink like you used to. I'm in a sorority at college so know the party scene well but my sisters and I know that when I get back it'll be different than we are used to. You just have to be SUPER careful. I'm so excited to be back at my goal weight and be healthy again that all of these changes are SO worth it :) Good luck and let me know if you have any questions!