Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am very new to church and just religion in general! And, my new church recently approached the topic of the Daniel fast. I am interested in paarticipating but nervous.

I am curious if anyone here has done it as a post op patient?

I am almost two years post op so it's not like I'm a newbie so I feel like it'll be possible. But I am concerned with lack of Protein. I am not the best with meeting my daily intake goals but at least I get some in. On this fast there's no meat so I will have to be very creative with protein.

Ideas? Suggestions?

Thanks in advance

First let me congratulate you on finding a church home. That's fantastic. Secondly, I think you will be able to do the Daniel fast. Is it a three week fast? I know when we do ours it's usually three weeks. Are you allowed to have Beans? Beans are very high in Protein and also have the added benefit that they are quite filling. In addition avocado, broccoli, spinach, brussel sprouts, corn, asparagus, cauliflower, and chick peas are all excellent sources of protein. As long as you eat plenty of veggies (which on a Daniel fast you naturally will) you shouldn't have a problem getting adequate protein. God Bless!

Thank you for the quick replies!

Also thanks for the suggestions. I'm not sure how long it they will be doing it. It was just briefly mentioned today. And I came home to do some research on my own before I committed to anything. But, so far I don't really think it will cause a problem. :)

I do the fast every January. I don't know about post-op; most of the vegetables have carbs. I loved the Ezekiel bread, but I am guessing that is a no-no post surgery.