Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

My life has changed so much in the year since my surgery. Some of it was expected but most of it was not. My story started about a year and a half ago with the death of my mother. She died as a result of a life long battle with obesity. She was 54 years old when she died at 325 lbs. I watched her struggle with her weight and all of the comorbidities for my entire life. I struggled with being overweight my entire childhood, teens, and now my twenties. As an ICU nurse, I knew it was only a matter of time before I had diabeties, high blood pressure and heart disease that killed my mother. She passed away in November and I started researching VSG in January. I realized insurance would not pay for it due to my BMI of 37 and no comobidities. I was 5'6, 225lbs, and a size 16/18. Self pay was going to be my only option so I started looking at surgeons. Dr. Ramos-Kelly fit my criteria and was willing to answer all my questions. Being a nurse, I just wanted to make sure everything would go smoothly. My husband at the time wasn't supportive due to the cost, even though I was paying for it from my own money. On May 15, 2011 we flew to San Diego and stayed the night at a hotel. I was sooo hungry and was ready to get the surgery over with. The next morning, the driver picked us up and took us over the border to Tijuana. We arrived at the hospital and were greeted by an interpreter. They took me back to the room and had me change into a hospital gown. The nurse came in and started my IV(on the first try, a miracle with me). They drew labs and the cardiologist came in to do an EKG. About 3pm they took me back to surgery, I was nervous due to some previous complications with anesthesia that almost cost me my life. Dr. Kelly came in and held my hand and told me it was going to be ok. The next thing I knew, I was in my room with an oxygen mask over my face. I was hot and having a little bit of gas pain. An hour later I got up and pu