Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello....I am a newbie here!

Hi...My name is Cay and my Dr. scheduled my sleeve gastrectomy today for August 22. I am doing OK, but I am here to gain as much "first hand" knowledge I can about the before, during and after surgery stuff. I live in Morgan City, LA (About an hour outside of New Orleans......yes, Swamp People is taped right in my back yard! LOL!)

My insurance will not pay a penny for bariatric surgery, so I must pay $12,000.00 for this procedure and I have decided to forget about the money and concentrate on how much I will be able to enjoy life when I am done. I am a recent breast cancer survivor, being diagnosed in January 2009.

I received a lumpectomy, port surgery, chemotherapy and radiation and now am gratefully cancer-free so far. It will be two years cancer-free in December. I learned through that journey that whatever time we all have left, we should live it to the fullest! I will pray for all of you to have successful experiences with your surgery. Please pray for me also!

Welcome to the forums and congrats on making the decision. Good luck with your surgery. Keep looking around the site and you will find a lot of information. Feel free to ask any questions.

Caycaye,

Welcome to the forum. There is so much information here that i have been here for months reading and still don't know it all. Good luck to you, your a very strong person already!